During my internship I was asked to start up a project with the 7th graders. For this project they would have to do some research into vlogging and eventually create their own vlog. To make it more ‘attractive’ I was asked to come up with a vlog of my own.

This made me wonder, what effect does it have when you use a vlog to introduce a lesson? To step into the world of famous YouTubers and their funny/weird/awesome challenges or clips of their lives.. Vlogging, just as blogging, didn’t really seem like a thing for me in the first place. I don’t feel all that interesting or funny, especially when I have to film myself.

However, brave as I am, I decided I would try to give it a go. I didn’t want to make it too basic, just telling about myself (as the learners are asked to do), but I did want to keep in mind that it should be appropriate while teaching. The vlog itself is still a work in progress, and won’t be posted until it has been finished (and used in class).

I would like to give my opinion on vlogging though… When you type in on YouTube ‘vlog’  you get all different kinds of these clips. From the cinnamon challenge, to do a make-up tutorial or something similar.. It seems everyone has a reason to vlog these days. I wonder how does filming yourself applying make-up to your face receive so many hits on YouTube? Everyone doing everyday things seem to be interesting enough to start a vlog… Maybe I should try that myself, to see how interesting people find me applying make-up on my face or even walking my dog…

Perhaps I’ll become a famous YouTuber myself! Or is that just too wishful thinking? Who knows!  I’ll keep you updated on how that’ll work out.

If it fails I think I’ll just stick to becoming a teacher.

 

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor oprah meme

Credits to TomsTell for the idea of using this wonderful meme.
Be sure to check out his blog too!
One thought on “You get a vlog! And you! And you! And you!

Leave a Reply

