Afbeeldingsresultaat voor derpYes, you read that right ‘Undersearchers’.

This is a quite literal translation of the Dutch word for researcher. I heard this during a workshop for the TELL course and, as you can assume, it cracked most of the people in the room up, including myself.

A workshop you ask? Yes, a workshop that was organized for this course. This was mandatory and it was in one word… useless, well not entirely it was a fun experience that I hope could come in handy one day.

Now, I do like to experiment with things, so I went to this workshop with an open mind and an empty stomach (sorry, I’m hungry) and I decided that I would let myself be surprised that day. There were three groups in the workshop and I was part of the virtual reality group.

For my group there were two ‘activities’, one in which you could build and program your own world on the computer, which then you could later watch in the VR glasses and walk around in, and the other activity was with the HTC Vive VR glasses, in which you could do different kinds of games such as drawing, but also Google Earth could be used. After we’d done these activities, we had to TELL (haha) why we would use this in a classroom and how we’d use it.Afbeeldingsresultaat voor not my cup of tea

Now I did like the idea of the HTC Vive glasses, but the programming and building my own world kind of stuff… Lets just say that it’s not really my cup of tea. It was nice to spend the day like that, even though I feel I could have spend it on more important things such as studying for my tests.

The HTC Vive glasses.. ah yes, I’d love to use those for a geography lesson or even a history lesson! But, how can I use these in a fun way in English lesssons? Perhaps letting the students tell each other directions to certain places in the world?.. That’s about the only thing I can come up with. For the programming your own world… Very nice idea for primary school, however. .secondary school, English lessons.. I don’t see the relevance to it.

 

So, in the end I was disappointed, hungry, grumpy and a bit tired. I was hoping to come up with some ideas which I could be able to use during my internship, but to no avail.

Now, this is a quite short post but this is all I have to  TELL (haha, did it again) about the workshop from 2 weeks back, sooooo…

That’s it for now!

Buh bye

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor bye bye gif

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

